Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - European Law School (ELS) — EULysses

European Law School Network


European Law School Network


The European Law School (Network) was established in 2006 by its three founding members (King’s College London, Humboldt University and Université Panthéon-Assas, Paris 2) in order to establish and develop the European Lawyer programme (the ‘Juriste Européen’). The University of Rome La Sapienza, the University of Amsterdam, the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens as well as the Universidade Católica Portuguesa in Lisbon later on became members of this prestigious programme. 

The “European Lawyer” study course is a combination of the two core contents that are necessary for a top legal profession today: the law on the national level and the European solutions. Students on this programme pursue undergraduate studies at their home institution for three years and follow that by spending a year each at two of the partner universities, obtaining a Masters degree at each. During their fourth and fifth years, students concentrate on specialist subject areas.

In the network among the universities, teaching structures in England, France, Italy, Germany, Greece, the Netherlands and Portugal are coordinated already at the level of undergraduate studies and not only at the postgraduate level or only bilaterally.

The core “European Lawyer” programme, which was originally formed by the Berlin-London-Paris triangle and has now been extended to Amsterdam, Athens, Lisbon and Rome constitutes a solid network of now seven institutions. The curricula have been coordinated by way of intensive discussions: in particular, in order to achieve parallel coverage of each institution’s respective area of specialisation and to facilitate the creation of a degree providing triple professional qualifications.  The long-term objective is to open this core network up to a larger network of elite institutions in the future.