

with MEPs Damian Boeselager, Nela Riehl, Anna Strolenberg & Reinier van Lanschot

Regulating innovation in the digital environment: towards a Digital Knowledge Agenda

Enabling Innovation through Access to Knowledge: Fostering Research

Enabling Innovation through Access to Knowledge: Fostering Education

Towards a Digital Knowledge Act: the Next Steps



10 July 2025, 9h30-11h30















09:30 – 10:00 Welcome and introduction

Damian Boeselager (MEP Volt) and Christophe Geiger (ILEO Luiss University, Rome)

09:45 – 10:00 Copyright Barriers to Innovation in the field of

research and education:

Copyright as an Access Right?

Christophe Geiger (Professor of law and Director of ILEO, Luiss University, Rome, Italy) and Bernd Justin Jütte (Associate Professor, Sutherland School of Law, UCD Dublin, Ireland & Affiliated Researcher at ILEO, Luiss University)

10:00 – 10:25 Panel 1: Enabling Innovation through Access to

Knowledge: Fostering Research

Speakers and moderator: Reinier van Lanschot (MEP Volt) (Moderator); Martin Senftleben (Professor of IP Law and Director, Institute for Information Law, University of Amsterdam, NL); Giulia Dore (Associate Professor, University of Trento, Italy) (Panelists).

10:25 – 10:50 Panel 2: Enabling Innovation through Access to Knowledge: Fostering Education

Speakers and moderator: Nela Riehl (MEP Volt) (Moderator); Katharina

de la Durantaye (Professor of Law, Humboldt University, Berlin,
Germany); Thomas Margoni (Research Professor of Intellectual Property
Law, CiTiP, KU Leuven, Belgium) (Panelists).

10:50 – 11.20 Panel 3: Towards a Digital Knowledge Act: the Next Steps

Speakers and moderator: Bernd Justin Jütte (Moderator); Sean Flynn (Professional Lecturer and Director, PIJIP, American University Washington College of Law, Washington D.C., US); Stephen Wyber (Director, External Affairs, IFLA, The Hague); Frédérique Berrod (Professor of EU Law and President of the University of Strasbourg, France); Teresa Nobre, (Legal Director, COMMUNIA, Brussels) (Panelists).

11:20 – 11:30 Conclusions

Damian Boeselanger (MEP Volt) and Christophe Geiger (ILEO Luiss)

















Damian Boeselager MEP Volt (Greens/EFA)



Nela Riehl MEP Volt (Greens/EFA)



Anna Strolenberg
MEP Volt (Greens/EFA)



Reinier van Lanschot MEP Volt (Greens/EFA)



Prof. Dr. Christophe Geiger ILEO



Dr. Bernd Justin Jütte
University College Dublin



Prof. Dr. Martin Senftleben
University of Amsterdam



Dr. Giulia Dore
University of Trento



Prof. Dr. Katarina de la Durantaye Humboldt University



Prof. Dr. Thomas Margoni KU Leuven



Prof. Sean Flynn
Washington College of Law



Mr. Stephen Wyber IFLA



Prof. Dr. Frédérique Berrod Université de Strasbourg



Ms. Teresa Nobre
COMMUNIA Association















German MEP for Volt (Greens/EFA) – co-founder of Volt Europa – Vice-Chair of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON) – Member of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE)

Damian Boeselager



German MEP for Volt (Greens/EFA) – former teacher – Chair of the Committee on Culture and Education (CULT) – Member of the Committee on Employment and social Affairs (EMPL)

Nela Riehl



Dutch MEP for Volt (Greens/EFA) – Member of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE) and on Women's Rights and Gender Equality (FEMM)

Anna Strolenberg



Dutch MEP for Volt (Greens/EFA) – co-founder of Volt Netherlands – Member of the Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer protection

Reinier van Lanschot

















Professor of Law at Luiss Guido Carli University - Director of the Innovation Law and Ethics Observatory (ILEO) – leading expert on IP law, advising several EU institutions

Prof. Dr. Christophe Geiger



Associate Professor of Intellectual Property Law at University College Dublin – expert in digital copyright, fundamental rights, and platform regulation

Dr. Bernd Justin Jütte



Professor of Intellectual Property Law and Director at the Institute for Information Law (IVIR), University of Amsterdam – expert on copyright, AI, and digital policy – member of the Benelux Council for IP and advisor to WIPO and the European

Prof. Dr. Martin Senftleben



Dr. Giulia Dore

Assistant Professor of Private Comparative Law at the University of Trento – expert in intellectual property, legal geography, and cultural heritage – research focus on social norms and place-making

















Professor of Private Law and Law of the Digital Transformation at Humboldt-Universität Berlin – expert in copyright and AI regulation

Prof. Dr. Katherina de le Durantaye



Research Professor of Intellectual Property Law at KU
Leuven – Board member at the Centre for IT and IP Law
(CiTiP) – Director of the Intellectual Property and IT Law
programme – expert in European copyright, law &
technology, and AI

Prof. Dr. Thomas Margoni



Professor at American University Washington on intellectual property, trade law, and human rights – Director of the Program on Information Justice and Intellectual Property (PIJIP)

Prof. Sean Flynn



Director of External Affairs at the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions – leader of the Knowledge Rights 21 Programme

Stephen Wyber

















Prof. Dr. Frédérique Berrod Université de Strasbourg

President of the University of Strasbourg – Professor of EU Law at Sciences Po Strasbourg and visiting professor at the College of Europe – member of the *Centre d'études internationales et européennes*



Teresa Nobre

Legal Director at COMMUNIA – expert in copyright, AI and public interest advocacy – led EU-level work on the Copyright Directive











