Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Prof Dr Giesela Rühl

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Faculty of Law | Prof Dr Giesela Rühl | Prof. Dr. Giesela Rühl, LL.M. (Berkeley)

Prof. Dr. Giesela Rühl, LL.M. (Berkeley)

Professor Dr. Giesela Rühl, LL.M. (Berkeley) has held the Chair of Civil Law, Civil Procedure Law, International and European Private and Procedural Law and Comparative Law at Humboldt-University of Berlin since 1 October 2020. Her research is focused on the legal challenges arising from globalisation and European integration pose for law. She analyses how the tension between globally interconnected societies and nationally applicable law can be resolved. Her particular focus is on European private international law and procedural law. Most recently, she has dealt with questions of digitalisation.

Education and Academic Career

Professor Rühl studied law in Bonn and Lausanne (Switzerland) with the support of the German Academic Scholarship Foundation (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes) and the German Academic Exchange Service (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst) and passed both of her state law examinations before the Higher Regional Courts of Cologne and Hamburg. In 2001, she obtained a Master of Laws at the University of California at Berkeley (USA), funded by the ERP Programme of the German Academic Scholarship Foundation. She received her doctorate from the University of Hamburg in 2003 for her comparative law thesis on the harmonisation of insurance contract law in Europe. In 2010, she habilitated at University of Hamburg. The topic of her habilitation thesis, which was funded by the German research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft), were the economic foundations of private international law.

During her habilitation, Professor Rühl was a Senior Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law in Hamburg, a Max Weber Fellow at the European University Institute in Florence (Italy), a Max Planck Visiting Fellow at the University of Cambridge (England) and a Joseph Story Research Fellow at Harvard Law School in Cambridge (USA). Until 2020, she held the Chair of Civil Law, Civil Procedure Law, International Private and Procedural Law, European Private Law and Comparative Law at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena. In recent years, she has regularly visited the USA (Duke University, University of Illinois), Australia (University of Sydney), Japan (Kyushu University) and the United Kingdom (University of Oxford, London School of Economics and Political Science) for research and teaching purposes.

Publication and Lecture Activities

Professor Rühl is the author and (co-)editor of numerous essays and books on European and International Private and Procedural Law. A complete overview of her publications can be found here. A list of the lectures she has given is available here.

Besides engaging in publications and lectures, Professor Rühl also regularly acts as an external expert. Most recently, she has also written two studies for the European Parliament Committee on Legal Affairs.

Awards

Professor Rühl was awarded the Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society for her doctorate in 2003. In 2013, she was the first jurist to receive the Carus Medal of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina for her habilitation thesis, and in 2014 she received the Carus Prize of the City of Schweinfurt. The Encyclopedia of Private International Law, which she co-edited, was honoured with a "Certificate of Merit" by the American Society of International Law in 2018.

Functions, Memberships and Honorary Offices

Professor Rühl is a founding member and Secretary General of the European Association of Private International Law (EAPIL). She is also a (co-)editor of Conflict of Laws.net, a platform for information exchange and discussion, an associate member of the International Academy of Comparative Law, a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, and a member of numerous national and international academic associations.

From 2017 to 2020, Professor Rühl was the director of the Center for European Studies (CEuS) at Friedrich Schiller University and from 2010 to 2015, she was a member of the Young Academy at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. From 2009 to 2013, she was also a member of the network “Private Macht und privatrechtliche Gestaltungsfreiheit” of the German Research Foundation.

Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Prof. Dr. Giesela Rühl

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Juristische Fakultät | Prof. Dr. Giesela Rühl | Prof. Dr. Giesela Rühl, LL.M. (Berkeley)

Prof. Dr. Giesela Rühl, LL.M. (Berkeley)

Professor Dr. Giesela Rühl, LL.M. (Berkeley) ist seit dem 1. Oktober 2020 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Bürgerliches Recht, Zivilverfahrensrecht, Internationales und Europäisches Privat- und Verfahrensrecht und Rechtsvergleichung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sie sich mit den Herausforderungen, die Globalisierung und europäische Integration für das Recht bedeuten. Sie untersucht, wie sich das Spannungsverhältnis zwischen global vernetzten Gesellschaften und national geltendem Recht auflösen lässt. Ihr besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei dem Europäischen Internationalen Privat- und Prozessrecht. Zuletzt hat sie sich zudem mit Fragen der Digitalisierung beschäftigt.

Ausbildung und Wissenschaftlicher Werdegang

Frau Professor Rühl hat in Bonn und Lausanne (Schweiz) mit Unterstützung der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes und des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes Rechtswissenschaft studiert und vor den Oberlandesgerichten Köln und Hamburg die beiden Juristischen Staatsprüfungen abgelegt. Im Jahr 2001 erwarb sie, gefördert durch das ERP-Programm der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, einen Master of Laws an der University of California at Berkeley (USA). Promoviert wurde sie im Jahr 2003 durch die Universität Hamburg mit einer rechtsvergleichenden Arbeit zur Harmonisierung des Versicherungsver­tragsrechts in Europa. Ebenfalls durch die Universität Hamburg wurde sie im Jahr 2010 habilitiert. Gegenstand ihrer von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderten Habilitationsschrift waren die ökonomischen Grundlagen des Internationalen Privatrechts.

Während ihrer Habilitation war Frau Professor Rühl Wissenschaftliche Referentin am Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches und internationales Privatrecht in Hamburg, Max Weber Fellow am Europäischen Hochschulinstitut in Florenz (Italien), Max Planck Visiting Fellow an der University of Cambridge (England) und Joseph Story Research Fellow an der Harvard Law School in Cambridge (USA). Bis 2020 war sie Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Bürgerliches Recht Zivilprozessrecht, Internationales Privat- und Prozessrecht, Europäisches Privatrecht und Rechtsvergleichung an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität in Jena. Zu Forschungs- und Lehraufenthalten war sie in den letzten Jahren regelmäßig in den USA (Duke University, University of Illinois), in Australien (University of Sydney), in Japan (Kyushu University) sowie im Vereinigten Königreich (University of Oxford, London School of Economics and Political Science).

Publikations- und Vortragstätigkeit

Frau Professor Rühl ist Autorin und (Mit-) Herausgeberin von zahlreichen Aufsätzen und Büchern zum Europäischen und Internationalen Privat- und Prozessrecht. Eine vollständige Übersicht über ihre Publikationen findet sich hier. Eine Liste der von ihr gehaltenen Vorträge lässt sich hier einsehen.

Neben ihrer Publikations- und Vortragstätigkeit ist Frau Professor Rühl regelmäßig als Sachverständige tätig. Zuletzt hat sie zudem zwei Studien für den Rechtsausschuss des Europäischen Parlaments verfasst.

Auszeichnungen

Frau Professor Rühl wurde für ihre Promotion im Jahr 2003 mit der Otto-Hahn-Medaille der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2013 erhielt sie für ihre Habilitationsschrift als erste Juristin die Carus-Medaille der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina und im Jahr 2014 den Carus-Preis der Stadt Schweinfurt. Die von ihr mit herausgegebene Encyclopedia of Private International Law wurde 2018 von der American Society of International Law mit einem „Certificate of Merit“ geehrt.

Funktionen, Mitgliedschaften und Ehrenämter

Frau Professor Rühl ist Gründungsmitglied und Generalsekretärin der European Association of Private International Law (EAPIL). Sie ist außerdem (Mit-) Herausgeberin des Informa­tions- und Diskussionsportals Conflict of Laws.net, assoziiertes Mitglied der International Academy of Comparative Law, Mitglied der Europäischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste sowie Mitglied zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler wissenschaftlicher Vereinigungen.

Von 2017 bis 2020 war Frau Professor Rühl Direktorin des Center for European Studies (CEuS) an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität und von 2010 bis 2015 Mitglied der Jungen Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaft und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina. Von 2009 bis 2013 war sie zudem Mitglied des DFG-Netzwerks „Private Macht und privatrechtliche Gestaltungsfreiheit“.